Country: The republic Malta is a state with a small land area on several islands in the Mediterranean Sea, 97 kilometres south of Sicily and approximately 355 kilometres north of Libya. The state consists of the islands of Malta, Gozo, Comino, Manoel Island and the small uninhabited islands Cominotto, Filfla, Fungus Rock and the St Paul's Islands.

The inhabitation of Malta goes back a long way. Ruins of temples, such as the temple of Taxiën, Hagar Qim, Mnajdra and Ggantija are even older then the pyramids of Egypt. From 800 B.C. Malta was used as a trading post by the Phoenicians, and from this beginning a colony was established. The modern inhabitants seem to ascend mainly from this group of people. Malta is also mentioned in the Bible. The apostle Paul was shipwrecked here. He and other passengers landed here and were pleasantly welcomed in a most friendly manner by the Maltese people (see Acts chapter 27 and 28).

Today, Malta is a very popular tourist destination. The islands are extremely attractive for those that enjoy sun and sea. Industrially, Malta is an excellent shipping port and large cargo liners from Latin-America, Australia and the Far East unload their cargo here for forward shipping in smaller ships.

Today there are 405,165 people living here (2009). The constitution provides for religious freedom, although Catholicism is the official state religion.


Places we are showing:

Written as...
Mdina - Saint Paul cathedral Tetragrammaton
Siggiewi - Saint Nicholas of Bari Tetragrammaton




- top -