Country: Russia, officially known as the Russian Federation, is a country situated partly in Europe and partly in Asia. It is the largest country in the world with an area of no less than 17,075,400 km ². This state shares its borders with Norway, Finland, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Belarus, Ukraine, Georgia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, China, Mongolia and North Korea. Furthermore, it is separated by a narrow strait from the United States (Alaska) and Japan. There are 142,905,208 people living in Russia (2010).

The history of this area goes back to its occupation by Slavic and Finnish-Ugric tribes. In the early Middle Ages, Vikings swarmed into the Russian rivers and built settlements. The Viking chief, Rurik, united many of these settlements in Northern Russia in 860 . In 882, the prince of Novgorod, Oleg the Wise, brought together the peoples living in southern Kiev under his dominion and in doing so the first Russian state was founded. After the domination by the Mongol Empire began in 1325, the principality of Moscow began to develop. From this arose the Tsardom of Russia. In 1721, this was followed by the Russian Empire, which existed until 1917. The Russian Revolution brought an end to the Tsardom and established the first communist state in the world: the Soviet Union, established on December 25, 1991.

Religion: Of the 142 million inhabitants, 100 million people profess to belong to the Russian Orthodox Church. Other religions represented are The Roman Catholic Church, Islam, Protestantism, Buddhism, Jehovah's Witnesses and various others.


Place we are showing:

  Written as...
Sergiev Posad - St. Sergei Cathedral Tetragrammaton







- top -